Share |

Press Release February 19, 2014

Outstanding Accomplishments and New Board Members Celebrated at Annual Symposium

Over 800 attendees came together to share ideas and information on military educational programs.

Savannah, Ga. — Feb. 19, 2014 — Even with unusual winter weather affecting the South, hundreds of members of the Council of College and Military Educators (CCME) came together during the 2014 Annual Symposium. In addition to discussing educational programs, initiatives and support for service members, veterans and spouses, CCME conducted its annual board elections and recognized several dedicated members for their continued contributions.

On the first full day of the symposium, members heard from the candidates for secretary-, vice president-, and president-elect during the annual business meeting. These three positions will lead the CCME board starting in 2015. Following the election, the members voted:

  • Cynthia Bruce Andrews, associate vice president – military operations for University of Maryland University College, secretary-elect
  • Lane Huber, chief distance learning & military affairs officer for Bismarck State College, vice president-elect
  • Dr. Jeffrey Cropsey, vice president for strategic initiatives and external relations for Grantham University, president-elect

On Wednesday night, following a wonderful performance by "Letters From Home," CCME handed out its annual awards. These were awarded by CCME president Dr. Michael Heberling, president for Baker College Center for Graduate Studies, to recognize outstanding contributions and accomplishments of its members. This year’s recipients were:

  • John Brian Service and Leadership Award – Outstanding service to the voluntary education community by a government employee – William Garcia, US Navy
  • CCME Institution Award – Presented to a higher education institution in recognition of its significant contributions to the cause of military education – Saint Martin's University
  • Lifetime Achievement Award – Andrea Baridon, Servicemembers Opportunity College
  • President's Award – Recognizes significant contributions from any sector that has advanced the cause of military education – William Yeager, Empire State College
  • Service Award – Linda Frank, Empire State College, and GySgt Axel Davila, USMC

On Friday, a passing of the batons occurred as the new CCME board leaders officially stepped into their positions. The board leadership for 2014 is:

  • Jim Yeonopolus, president – continental & international campus operations for Central Texas College, president
  • Francisco "Franc" Lopez, military liaison for Columbia Southern University, vice president
  • Margaret Reed, senior director for Webster University – Colorado Springs, secretary
  • Cheri Arfsten, director of military & veterans programs for Pikes Peak Community College, treasurer

Congratulations to the new CCME board members, and this year's award recipients. Next year's annual symposium will be held in Anaheim, California.

To learn more about the CCME, please visit

About CCME:
CCME, a not-for-profit organization, was founded in 1972 to promote, encourage, and deliver quality education to service members and their families in all branches of the armed services. Its membership is principally composed of military educators, civilian educators, post-secondary educational institutions, and suppliers of quality education products and services. For more information about CCME, visit: